A service of the Bradford County Telegraph, Inc.

Retiree seeks seat on Clay Electric board


Monitor Editor

Clay Electric members in District One nominated two candidates for the cooperative’s board of trustees during a district meeting at the Keystone Heights Lions Club on Feb. 7.

Challenger Carl Hagglund and incumbent Laura Dean will be on the ballot during the co-op’s annual meeting March 28 in Keystone Heights.

Hagglund is a retired Clay Electric employee. Dean is seeking her third, three-year term.

In the District Eight meeting held at the Wacahoota United Methodist Church on Feb. 5, members nominated one candidate, Jo Ann Smith, who is a trustee. That district includes portions of Levy, Marion and Lake counties.

In the District Nine meeting held at the Citra Community Center on Feb. 4, members nominated current trustee Angus Hastings. District Nine  includes portions of Flagler, Volusia, Lake, Marion and Putnam counties.

Nine trustees govern Clay Electric. Each year three of other positions are up for election.

Comments are closed.